The original Duff House Golf Club was formally founded on March 1, 1910, using a layout by the great architect James Braid. It was then touched by more design royalty when Dr Alister MacKenzie – of Augusta National and Alwoodley fame – redesigned it in 1923, finishing the project in 1924. The course is a flat, beautifully manicured parkland with little rough. The large two-tiered greens are classic MacKenzie work, and the many well-positioned bunkers and trees make the course a severe but fair challenge.
The course is bounded by the River Deveron, which is a hazard for those who are wayward off the tee at the 7th, 16th and 17th. As per MacKenzie’s design masterplan, the greens and fairways are undulating, without steep hills for the golfer to climb, and there are a minimum of blind approach shots.
The emphasis is placed on natural beauty, not on artificial features, and the lack of rough means balls are not being constantly looked for – thus speeding up play to a pleasant pace.